Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
I'd like to introduce myself :)
Hi Brian and Everyone,

I'm David Oberlin and it's been a while since I've done any coding. I studied Software Development at Forth Valley College, Falkirk Tech, around the millennium but due to complicated circumstances never found myself a job in what is now STEM.

In the last two decades I've played around with many different engines. From Adventure Game Studio and Arcade Game Studio to just modding other games like Doom, Duke3d and Unreal. I've got some killer Doom levels still kicking around and a few prototypes of other games. However I've never released anything formally, well except Doom levels.

I recently completed a beginners refresher course on c++ targeted for Linux on the Pi [Learn To Program Using C++ On The Raspberry Pi, Phil Gardner.] and I was happy to find out not a lot has changed. Anyway I'm really excited to learn more about the engineering side of game design. So I can hopefully deploy and support some awesome experiences on multiple systems.  At the moment I have a RP3B+ and an Odroid XU4 to play with however in future I'm hoping to get an UP Board for that x86 compatibility.

I'm looking forward to completing this book with you all and wishing everyone the best.

Kind Regards

David
Welcome David, really glad to have you on board (the last 20 or so registrations were spammers, so nice to see a real person again)

I have 2 Up boards, the squared almost works, and if I can find out why my vertices are wrong it will the fastest board in my collection, but I've given up on the core until they get the software sorted. The XU4 is a beast of a machine though and great great fun to play with, I'll set up some examples of how to set the X11 system up, which is different from the Pi's Broadcom video systems.

Feel free to ask for help anytime on here, I check regularly and am happy to help when I can.

Brian
Brian Beuken