Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
well thats an eye opener.
I've been doing it wrong.....

Since I started coding on Raspberries, I've been using a simple framework that displayed my OpenGL content using DispmanX systems, that worked great.
When I tried to use other SBC's it turned out they didn't have DispmanX, so I discovered they used X11 to display.. I thought that Raspberry's DispmanX was a replacement for X11

I was totally and utterly wrong, and its taken 3 years and a confusing thread on the Raspberrypi.org forums to make the clear.

Raspbian does use X11, it ALSO uses DispmanX I guess as a way to draw bitmaps faster, it may indeed be a bit faster than X11, but I would have to do some tests.

The DispmanX stuff is still fine, when all said an done, all we are doing is working on a framebuffer and depending on the system to display it. Both X11 and DispmanX do that, while we are busy working away behind it, not really caring how it gets on screen.

But it does mean, that in principle at least it should be possible to get all Raspberries to render with the same X11 systems as the other SBC's... mind you my first attempts to do that are failing, so for now keep DispmanX until I work out why I'm unable to create a surface despite opening X11 windows and displays and EGL contexts....more research is needed. But it might result in a much cleaner config.
Brian Beuken
Lecturer in Game Programming at Breda University of Applied Sciences.
Author of The Fundamentals of C/C++ Game Programming: Using Target-based Development on SBC's 

After some experimentation, and a lot of wtf and other colourful scottish vocabulary, I've concluded that its waaay too much effort trying to render on an older Raspberry with X11. Using the onboard libs, it crashes out with a segmentation error trying to create an EGL surface. I can find no reason for it, or means to fix it, and there seems to be little research on line about it (unlikely to be now that the 4 is here).